Dish of the week: pizza dough

Ok, so I’m fortunate enough to have married someone who loves cooking. I like cooking too. I find it wonderful. But Justin loves cooking and has been cooking for far longer than I have and a lot of it comes naturally to him. So one of my goals this year is to improve my technique by trying different things rather than cooking what I know.

A while back, Justin bought Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s bread book, The River Cottage Bread Handbook. It’s actually by Daniel Stevens.

daniel-stevens

Today, we went for a hike, so the perfect treat was to make homemade pizza. I got to have a go at the recipe for the dough. Yes, simple. Needed some muscles too for the kneading. 🙂

500g all purpose flour, 500g of the other kind, 10g yeast, 20g fine salt (Himalayan pink salt for us from Essential Ingredient which doesn’t seem to be available via the online shop), 2 and 2/3 cups of warm water, 2 generous tablespoons of olive oil… Et voilà. It’s simple, right?

Turned out alright too. I think I’ll easily make it again without anyone asking me. No knead to, babe. And my pizza recipe? Tomato paste, ham, capsicum, onion, capers and mozzarella cheese. I think I’m growing up. I specifically choose capers. What’s going on?

Leave a Reply

