Monocle Forecast x Aleppo soap

Monocle’s Forecast has me Googling Aleppo soap.

Aleppo soap is made using olive oil, lye (sodium hydroxide, NaOH) and laurel oil. As I look up what laurel oil is, I recognise the leaves as bay leaves. Trusty bay leaves!


My Mediterranean self is jumping with glee. I want to find this soap and try it. I absolutely love olive oil soap, especially in our household of mostly super dry skin. If we go through anything, its lots of moisturisers (skin, body, face, lips, hair, feet, hands…) and lots of straight-up oils (olive oil for the body, coconut oil for the hair… and body). We just love natural oils. We can’t stand dry skin. Why? Climate. Toxins. Who knows?

Off I go to source some Savon d’Alep from Syria. Tick. Can’t wait until its delivered!

1 thought on “Monocle Forecast x Aleppo soap”

Leave a Reply

