New dish of the week

For this year, one of my challenges is to make a new dish each week. Something I haven’t cooked before.

Over the holidays I poached chicken for the first time, made my own peach Bellini (didn’t quite work), cooked what was sold to me as a lamb shoulder (we figured it was some other part of the lamb), and I can’t quite remember whether I tried anything else new.

As someone who doesn’t cook too often, I think it’s time to right this wrong.

Tonight, I’m making something simple. Something which Justin makes all the time. Something which is a bit of a staple in our house.

cornedbeef.jpg

Corned beef.

For this recipe, I used a 1.3kg piece of silverside beef.

Place in a pot of water to cover. Add some juniper berries, bay leaves, black peppercorns, brown sugar and malt vinegar. Oh yeah, and an onion… Then boil for between 3 and 4 hours. This is how we make our corned beef.

I’ve pulled up Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s recipe from his The River Cottage Meat Book and I’ve uncovered a similar recipe but very different process. Hugh places all of the ingredients similar to ours into a pot to boil for a few minutes and then removes them altogether, leaving the meat to cool. He then brines the meat for several days before cooking it for the several hours. I should like to try this one day and see how different a meal it turns out to be.

Leave a Reply

