Andy Warhol x Absolut Vodka

AndyWarhol_AbsolutVodka

Setting myself a painting challenge this year. With our brand new yellow wall and a recent trip to the National Gallery of Victoria’s Andy Warhol | Ai Weiwei Exhibition, I’m going to try recreating this piece. I haven’t quite mastered the art of appreciating vodka, but I do love my brands.

I can’t seem to find too much information about this piece but I do know that these are the original bottles that Warhol designed for the Absolut Warhol campaign in 1986.

From 1986 onwards, Absolut Vodka commissioned over a thousand pieces of art from artists including Keith Haring, Ed Ruscha, Annie Leibovitz, and Damien Hirst. Some of this art was used for Absolut Vodka’s print advertising.

In 1986, Andy Warhol became the first artist to create an original piece of art for Absolut after he announced, “I love the bottle, I want to do something…”

Leave a Reply

