Lost in Pages

shades

Lovelessness, snobbery, expectation, meritocracy and dependence – all solved by philosophy, art, politics, Christianity and Bohemia through Alain de Botton.

I’ve read more de Botton in the past three months, than I have any other material. It has kept me company on the 5:18am 48 tram from Bosisto St to Flinders Station. I’m sure I’ve even walked up to Coventry or Dorcas Sts with my nose stuck into his works.

The Consolations of Philosophy and Status Anxiety. And next I’ll pick up a copy of The Pleasures and Sorrows of Work (although I’ve never been more happy with work than I am at the moment, I’m keen to find more insights into the every day clockwork of working society).

The Consolations of Philosophy – Socrates, Epicurus, Seneca, Montaigne, Schopenhauer, Nietzsche… The jeers of the Atheneans, that girl from Miletus, streams trickling from alpine slopes in the cool warmth of a spring in summer. For a few weeks I was distracted. Every time I was frustrated by anything, another page would refocus.

Leave a Reply

